The Winston-Salem Sister Cities Board was established by a resolution adopted by the Winston-Salem City Council on August 18, 1997. It is charged with seeking to promote international cooperation, understanding, and development through a variety of dynamic exchanges with specific cities with whom Winston-Salem maintains an active, formalized relationship.

Seven members are appointed by the Winston-Salem City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor. The remaining fourteen members are appointed by the Winston Salem Sister Cities Board.

Current Board Members

Dave Van Pelt - ChairmanMichael Robinson - Treasurer
Scott Plaster - SecretaryWendy Xiong - Vice Chairman
Ruben GonzalesJames Hunder
Ping LangJoseph A. Molnar
Edward Opoku-DapaahTerrin Tucker
Lei ZhangZhenlin Zheng
Doug Atkinson (adjunct)
The City of Winston-Salem is represented by Steve Harrison, Business Development Administrator and Sister Cities Coordinator.